OMEA/CMIEC 2016 Scholarship Recipients

High School Scholarship

The High School Scholarship is presented to a graduating high school student who has made a significant contribution to their school music program. During their time at the school, the student must also have displayed outstanding leadership within the music department.

Prahamya Balaranjan
From a young age, Prahamya has always immersed herself in music, exploring both Carnatic and Western music. She began taking Carnatic vocal lessons at the age of six, and Carnatic violin lessons at the age of ten. Concurrently, she actively participated in all her elementary and high school choirs and orchestras. A recent graduate of Agincourt Collegiate Institute in Scarborough, Ontario, Prahamya was a member of the Agincourt Music Council for four years, serving her final year as the president. In grade 10, she attended the Secondary Music course at the Ontario Educational Leadership Centre and has returned each year, as a Youth Facilitator, to help young people develop their own leadership skills through the arts. Prahamya is currently studying Biomedical Science at Trent University. She is a member of the Trent University Madrigal Singers and will be auditioning for the Peterborough Symphony Orchestra this spring, while continuing to work towards her Teacher’s Certification in Carnatic violin. She has the utmost respect and gratitude for all her music teachers and hopes to inspire others the way they have inspired her.

Kale Morton

Cathy Lynn Yorke-Slader Bursary

The Cathy Lynn Yorke-Slader Bursary is presented to a student who will be studying voice or clarinet at a post-secondary school institution. This scholarship honors Cathy Lynn Yorke-Slader, a past president of the OMEA and longtime music educator.

Lynn Bruulsema
Music has always been a big part of Lynn’s life. She has played piano from a young age and continues to study it as her primary instrument. In her years at Hamilton District Christian High, Lynn enjoyed being involved in and taking on leadership roles within the music program. She was a member of the choir, concert band, and worship band. Leading worship is one of Lynn’s favourite ways to use her musical gifts and she looks forward to doing more of this both in her church and school. Lynn is currently pursuing studies in music, French, and international development at Redeemer University College in Ancaster.

CMIEC Legacy Scholarship

The CMIEC Legacy Scholarship is presented to a University student who is graduating from a four-year Undergraduate Degree in Music or is in the third year of a four-year Concurrent Education program, with a focus in Music.

Matteo Ferrero-Wong
Matteo completed his bachelor of music last year from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Music and is currently working to complete his final year of the Concurrent Teacher Education Program at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at U of T. As a double bass player, Matteo enjoys performing with the Toronto Symphony Youth Orchestra as well as teaching privately and at clinics in schools. Matteo is excited to be joining the world of music education after his last year at OISE and is deeply grateful for receiving this award.

George Bishop Pre-Service Scholarship

The George Bishop Pre-Service Scholarship is presented to a University student who is graduating from a Pre-Service Teaching program, with a focus in Music, or a four-year Concurrent Education program, with a focus in Music. This scholarship honors George Bishop and his contribution to the growth of Music Education in Ontario.

Marisa VanRuitenburg
Marisa VanRuitenburg completed her Bachelor of Music degree at the University of Western Ontario with Honours in Music Education. In July 2016, she graduated from the Bachelor of Education program at Queen’s University. Marisa has her Intermediate-Senior qualifications in Instrumental Music and History and was hired as a Secondary occasional teacher with her home board, Lambton-Kent District School Board after graduating. Marisa is now a full-time teacher at John Knox Christian School in Wyoming, Ontario, teaching grade four and finding ways to integrate music education wherever she can. She is looking forward to the opportunity of having her own classroom and providing her students with a community of collaboration and creativity, celebrating their achievements through music education.